Food Allergens

Food Menu Allergies

Our menu and our concept have proven part of the success is the ability to manage dietary requirements as many of the Mexican ingredients fill those needs. As a staff member, it is essential you understand these terms and familiarize yourself with these terms.

Definition of common dietary needs.

GF – A gluten-free diet is an eating plan that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). It is common in foods such as bread, pasta, pizza, and cereal. Gluten provides no essential nutrients. People with celiac disease have an immune reaction that is triggered by eating gluten.

DF – A dairy-free diet excludes all dairy products. This category includes milk from any animal, as well as any product made from this milk, such as cheese, yogurt, butter, and cream. Eggs are not a dairy product.

PF – What Does “Peanut-Free” Mean? When a food is “peanut-free” it does not contain peanuts, peanut butter, peanut oil or any form or derivative of peanut at all!

V – A vegan diet is based on plants (such as vegetables, grains, nuts, and fruits) and foods made from plants. Vegans do not eat foods that come from animals, including dairy products and eggs.

Vegetarian – A vegetarian diet is based on plants, grains, nuts, and fruits. They also include foods made from plants. While a vegetarian diet does not include meat, poultry or seafood, some vegetarians eat dairy products (lacto-vegetarian) such as cheese and eggs. Other forms of vegetarian diets include fish and other shellfish (pescatarian)

Apps & Salads
  • Roasted Beet Quesadilla: GF, V, PF
  • Dip Board: GF, V, PF
  • Surf and Turf Sopes: GF, PF
  • Lamb Barbacoa: GF, PF
  • Oyster Plate: GF, PF, DF
  • Tuna Poke: PF
  • Crab and Corn Bisque: GF, PF
  • Quesadilla: GF, PF
  • Birria Crepe Flaultas: PF
  • Wedged Pineapple: GF, DF, PF, V
  • Elote Callejero: GF, PF
  • Nachos con Queso Blanco: GF, PF, Vegetarian without meat
  • Avocado Salada: GF, V
  • Grilled Caesar Halibut: GF, PF
  • Ceviche Blanco: GF, PF, Contains shellfish/fish
  • Guacamole: GF, PF, DF, V, contains sunflower seeds
  • Caesar Mexicano: GF, PF, Contains fish/dairy.

Flour Tortillas are NOT gluten free. Corn tortillas are Gluten free. Fried food is NOT gluten free.

Tacos
  • Lobster Taco: GF, PF
  • Chamoy Steak Taco: GF, PF
  • Wild Mushroom: GF, PF, Vegetarian, can be Vegan without cheese
  • Halibut Taco: GF, PF
  • Korean BBQ Short Rib: PF, DF, contains Soy, may contain peanuts
  • Jerk Chicken: PF, DF
Mains à la carte
  • Paella: GF PF, DF
  • Street Bowl: PF
  • Noodle Bowl: NOT GLUTEN OR DAIRY FREE
  • Fried Lobster: GF, PF
  • Filet Chamoy: GF, DF, PF without Risotto
  • Halibut Veracruz: GF, PF, DF without Risotto
  • Rotisserie Jerk Chicken: GF PF DF without Risotto
  • Grilled Lamb Chop: GF, DF, without Risotto and Macha Salsa
Desserts

ALL DESSERTS ARE VEGETARIAN

  • Churro: PF, NOT GLUTEN OR DAIRY FREE
  • Tres Leche Doughnuts: PF, NOT GLUTEN OR DAIRY FREE
  • Mezcal Flan: GF, PF, NOT DAIRY FREE
  • Queso Filled Empanada: PF, NOT GLUTEN OR DAIRY FREE
  • Ice Cream: PF, GF, NOT DAIRY FREE
Essential Terms to Know

FOOD

Oaxaca [wa-HA-ka]: white semihard cheese; similar in flavor to Monterey jack with a similar texture to stringy mozzarella

Queso fresco: semisoft white cheese; usually served shredded over hot food.

Crèma: similar in texture and flavor to sour cream; made with heavy cream and buttermilk.

Carne asada: beef that has been marinated and grilled; usually sliced in thin strips.

Tinga: shredded chicken cooked in a sauce made with tomatoes, chipotle chilis, and sliced onion.

Achiote [ah-chee-oh-tey]: a type of spice used to add a slightly peppery flavor; also used to add yellowish-red color to food.

Tajin [ta-HEEN]: chili seasoning

Guajillo [gwa’hē(y)ō]: moderately hot type of chili pepper

Al pastor: thinly sliced pork that has been seasoned with chilies and pineapple then roasted on a vertical spit.

Poutine [poo-teen]: a dish consisting of fries, cheese, and brown gravy.

From Scratch Queso Blanco [keso ˈβlaŋko]: a smooth, creamy sauce made from a blend of cheeses used for dipping.

Cojita cheese [kuh-tee-huh]: made from cow’s milk and named after the town of Cojita. White in color and firm in texture, its flavor is salty and milky.

Habanero [haa-buh-neh-row]: a hot variety of chili.

Ceviche [suh-vee-shay]: a dish consisting of fish or shellfish marinated in citrus and seasonings.

Calamari: squid

Consommé [kaan-suh-may]: clear broth made from richly flavored stock.

Guajillo [gwaa-hee-ow]: a hot variety of chili.

Salsa verde: a type of spicy, green sauce in Mexican cuisine based on tomatillo and green chili peppers.

Roja [roh-ha]: a type of spicy red sauce.

Jerk Rub: a hot and spicy mixture made with a base of peppers from Jamacia used to season meats and vegetables.

Chimichurri [chi-mee-chur-ee]: a green sauce made of chopped parsley and other green herbs, minced garlic, oil, oregano and vinegar or lemon juice.

Mole [moh-ley]: traditional Mexican Sauce usually consisting of fruits, nuts, chili peppers, spices, and sometimes Mexican chocolate.

Churro [chur-ow]: a type of fried dough usually tossed with a combination of sugar and cinnamon.

Tres Leche [trey-lay-chays]: Three Milk. Usually referring to a cake or pastry dipped with 3 types of milk. Evaporated, condensed and whole milk is traditional.

Empanada [en-pun-naa-duh]: a type of baked or fried turnover consisting of pastry and a filling, either sweet or savory.

DRINK

Blanco: “white” tequila; always bottled less than 60 days after final distillation; good for mixing.

Reposado: “rested;” gold tequila; aged from 2 months to 1 year before being bottled; usually aged in oak or white oak barrels; good for sipping or mixing.

Anejo [ah-neh-ho]: “vintage;” darker than reposado; aged from 1-3 years; best for sipping.

Extrañejo: darkest; aged longer than 3 years; best for sipping.

Mezcal: made from the core of the agave plant; agave is cooked inside earthen pits lined with lava rocks and filled with wood and charcoal, then distilled in clay pots; has more of a smoky flavor; aging categories are slightly different than regular tequila.

o Joven: same as blanco; aged 0-2 months

o Reposado: aged 2-12 months

o Añejo: aged at least one year

Close
Our Location
Hours of operation
Monday Closed
Tuesday - Thursday 4:30PM - 9PM
Friday + Saturday 4:30PM - 10PM
Sunday 4:30PM - 9PM
Cabana Deck Closed Until April
Kitchen Hours
Tuesday - Sunday 4:30PM - 9PM
Close